• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Based in Wilmington, North Carolina, Rhine Law Firm, P.C. represents clients statewide. We Regularly Meet With Clients After 5 P.M. And On Weekends

*Disclaimer: This is an advertisement by Rhine Law Firm, P.C., 1612 Military Cutoff Rd., Suite 300, Wilmington, North Carolina, 28403. The Rhine Law Firm, P.C., is licensed to practice law in the state of North Carolina and does not seek to practice in any other state or jurisdiction. To the extent that you reside in a state other than North Carolina, the Rhine Law Firm, P.C., may associate counsel licensed to practice law in that jurisdiction if necessary to comply with any and all rules of professional conduct.

No representation is made that the quality of legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. This advertisement does not constitute a guarantee, warranty, or prediction regarding the outcome of your legal matter, either express or implied. Prior outcomes do not guarantee any future results. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisements. Do not rely on this advertisement in making any medical decision. Please call your physician before making any medical decision, including altering your use of any drug or treatment.

JOIN THE

LAWSUIT

Were you a victim of Michael Kelly while attending a New Hanover County School?   Find out if you can join the lawsuit.

 

We offer FREE case consultations - no pressure or obligations.

DO I HAVE A CASE?

LAW PRIOR TO 12/1/19

  • Victims have 3 years to file a civil lawsuit from the date of the abuse/assault.

  • If a victim was under 18 at the time of the assault, (s)he must file before his/her 21st birthday

  • Even in cases of repressed memories or other exceptions to the statute of limitations, victims must file a civil lawsuit within 10 years from the date of the defendant’s last wrongful act.This is known as the statute of repose, which prohibits victims from filing a civil lawsuit under any circumstance more than 10 years from the date of the last wrongful act committed by a defendant.

LAW AFTER 12/1/19

  • Victims have until the age of 28 to file a civil lawsuit.

  • All past stale claims (previously time-barred due to the current statute of limitations), regardless of the current age of the victim, are revived beginning in January of 2020 and continuing for two years.

  • Under the new law, childhood sexual abuse cases are exempt from the 10-year statute of repose.

  • Victims are provided with an additional two years to file a civil case following a felony conviction of a defendant who committed a sexual crime against the victim while they were a minor.

CONTACT US